Fifth District AHEPA Cancer Research Foundation, Inc


axios award


The “Axios Award” is presented to an individual or individuals whose humanitarian purposes and endeavors have contributed in helping to find a cure for cancer, unselfishly and devoutly in the name of mankind. This award has been given out since 1996, recent recipients include:
Past Axios Recipients David C. Lyden, MD, Ph.D., 2009, Shridar Ganesan, M.D., Ph.D., 2015, Yibin Kang, Ph.D., 2013

AXIOS Recipients

  • Dr. Shridar Ganesan, 2015 Associate Director of Translational Science, Omar Boraie Chair in Genomic Science at Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and Associate Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
  • Dr. Yibin Kang, 2013 Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular, Princeton University
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center, 2011 Among the top ten cancer centers in the nation devoted entirely to cancer treatment, research and prevention.
  • Dr. David C. Lyden, 2009 Stavros S. Niarchos Associate Professor in Pediatric Cardiology and Associate Professor of Pediatrics at Weill Cornell Medical College, and an Associate Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Dr. William Hait, 2008 Senior Vice President & Worldwide Head of Hematology and Oncology for Johnson & Johnson
  • Dr. Nicholas Romas, 2007 Chairman of the Department of Urology at St. Luke’s Roosevelt Hospital Center, NY
  • Dr. Maria Theodoulou, 2006 Associate Attending at the Breast Cancer Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and Professor of Medicine at the Joan & Sanford I. Weill Medical College of Cornell University, NY
Scroll to Top